The Haliburton Highlands Sports Hall of Fame has announced its first inductees.

Eleven athletes, three ‘builders’ and three teams will be celebrated in an exhibit on the upper level of the A.J. LaRue Arena.

A wide range of athletes were recognized: football stars Michael Bradley, and Taly Williams; track and field Olympian Lesley Tashlin and university track star, Anna Tomlinson; hockey players Cody Hodgson, Ron Stackhouse, Bernie Nicholls, Donald Beverley “Joe” Iles, Glen Dart and Marla MacNaull, and curler Jake Walker.

Those honoured in the builders category – supporting sporting culture in the area – include Linda J. Brandon, Albert John (Ab) LaRue and Lenny Salvatori.

Famed hockey teams throughout history also get a nod: the 1934 Haliburton Huskies, 1956-58 Minden Monarchs and the 1971 Haliburton Junior D Huskies will be recognized for their accomplishments on the ice.

“This is a group of people and teams that truly reflect the depth and the breadth of athletics in the Highlands,” said Scotty LaRue, chair of the Hall of Fame board.

“We have 11 athletes, three builders and three teams whose excellence and commitment deserve to be celebrated and that is exactly what we are doing.”

LaRue and the rest of the Hall of Fame board will host an induction ceremony on October 23.

“These individuals have contributed so much to their sports and to their communities and we want to ensure these contributions are never forgotten,” LaRue said in a press release.

The Haliburton Highlands Sports Hall of Fame will occupy a temporary space in A.J LaRue Arena’s community hall.

The Hall of Fame is part of the Haliburton County Community Co-operative, and raised funds for the exhibition’s display cabinets, website, and promotional materials with help from community donations.

The Highlander will be profiling each athlete, builder and team in upcoming issues.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here