Thursday, March 31, 2016
OPINION -- I failed, miserably. I made a green salad the other day to accompany lunch. “Nothing too difficult”, I hear you say, and I didn't think so either.
Sunday, March 27, 2016
OPINION -- So this is one of those columns. You know the ones where the writer reflects back after reaching some personal milestone.
Thursday, March 24, 2016
OPINION -- The other day, my lovely wife asked me if I'd like a set of golf clubs. I was perplexed. “But why,” I asked, regretting my question almost as soon as the words had left my lips.
Thursday, March 24, 2016
OPINION -- In a world where Twitter and Facebook spoil nearly every blockbuster movie before you see it - a twisted world that is – small newspapers like us are forced to embrace those social media tools and use them to provide readers
Thursday, March 17, 2016
OPINION -- There isn’t much to like about Donald Trump. The bombastic leader in the race for the Republican Party nomination, heading into November’s election, has carved a pretty broad swath on the election trail.
Thursday, March 17, 2016
OPINION -- Raised eyebrows are common lately when I tell people where I've been going every Tuesday afternoon: driver's education. Yes, at the ripe age of 34, mother of two and writer of stories, I am getting my licence.
Friday, March 11, 2016
OPINION -- In our daily lives, we tend to spew a lot of rhetoric, stuff we say or respond to that's really not thought out, or even very interesting.
Friday, March 11, 2016
OPINION -- Having friends come to stay can be, how shall I put it, somewhat stressful at times.
Thursday, March 10, 2016
OPINION -- We get excited when new businesses pop up in our county. The potential for year-round employment opportunities and products or services that attract and retain cottagers can be motivating for those of us who call this our home.
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- This could get confusing, so, right off the top, let's set a couple of things straight. I have two friends called Jeff. One is a work colleague and avid fisherman, the other is my hound dog.
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- What are you putting on your dog?French’s Mustard? Heinz Ketchup? Bick’s Relish?
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- Lately, I’ve been wondering if it’s just me or do other kids feel the same way about being the child of small business owners?
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- I couldn’t help but smile when fans began to stomp their feet to distract St. Paul’s free throw shooters on Friday afternoon. It was a moment made possible by a group of very motivated young athletes whose actions have slowly sparked ...
Friday, February 26, 2016
OPINION -- I’m of the notion that we generally don’t agree on political issues in this region. Unfortunately the end result of all this is a lot of numbing debate over big issues that realistically could change this community in a big way.
Friday, February 26, 2016
OPINION -- I searched and searched both grocery stores but I couldn’t find it. Imagine my disappointment, not a bottle of vino to be had anywhere. Lied to again, I thought, as I got back in the truck. Can’t trust the government here, just like in Blighty.
Friday, February 26, 2016
OPINION: Forget about class sizes, Haliburton County, we’re facing a steady enrolment decline.
Tuesday, February 23, 2016
OPINION -- Cold enough to freeze the balls off a brass monkey, eh! Do you guys get my drift when I say that? Not the ‘eh’ bit. I know you get that because you throw it around with great abandon, tacking it onto almost every utterance that you speak.
Friday, February 19, 2016
OPINION -- It would be instructive for Minden council to share its vision for the future of the Minden Hills Cultural Centre before it starts hacking away chunks of its operating budget.
Friday, February 19, 2016
OPINION -- For the third year in a row, this community has shown more support and awareness of International Angelman Day than any other place in the entire world.
Thursday, February 11, 2016
OPINION -- A very rural thing happened to me last week. I had one of those intense, involved, community-related discussions smack dab in the center of town. The person said Haliburton Highlands really isn’t so much a tourist area anymore ...
Thursday, February 11, 2016
OPINION -- Smoking is smoking, no matter what you choose to inhale. Recently, I was in a restaurant for a going away party and a co-worker pulled out an e-cigarette, took a long pull and blew out a massive cloud of smoke. No one batted an eye.
Sunday, February 7, 2016
OPINION -- I took a tentative sip from the Budweiser can. “Hey, it actually tastes quite good!” Another sip. “I can’t believe it! It tasted just as you’d imagine; hot dog flavoured tea.
Thursday, February 4, 2016
OPINION -- So many were so anxious to feel fresh snow under their machines, that poor ice conditions or consequences of drinking and riding took a back seat to finally getting going. Two accidents in less than a month caused two deaths.
Saturday, January 30, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Tis the time of year when I report upon one of the great outdoors events in Haliburtonian folklore; one of the pivotal happenings by which certain members of local society set their seasonal clocks by ...
4 5 6 7 8 9 10