Thursday, April 14, 2016
OPINION -- Two things caught my eye last week, two very different things but I definitely saw them both, I think, perhaps, may be.
Thursday, April 14, 2016
OPINION -- It has happened before and I am sure it will again. This past weekend, the people of Haliburton County reached out to provide a helping hand to someone in need.
Thursday, April 14, 2016
OPINION -- When times get tough, this county always bands together to make things happen. More than a handful of times this week, the people of this community have shown their true colours.
Friday, April 8, 2016
OPINION -- Beware, everyone. This article contains information about ‘milking it’. Now, I am not talking about taking advantage of a situation to get something you do not deserve.
Friday, April 8, 2016
OPINION -- You don't have to watch the news to really appreciate that the world is rapidly changing.
Friday, April 8, 2016
OPINION -- Little Z couldn't go to school the other day. He was disappointed, yep, annoyed even, but then again he's only six: young enough to still enjoy school, not yet jaded by life ...
Friday, April 8, 2016
OPINION -- It’s difficult for some people to appreciate the significance of art. It helps to understand that much of what we know of mankind comes to us through art that has survived the ages ...
Friday, April 8, 2016
OPINION -- April 2 was World Autism Awareness Day. For the past eight years, the world has come together to celebrate and raise awareness for the disorder. Schools, businesses and other organizations in the county have also stepped up ...
Thursday, March 31, 2016
OPINION -- So, there I was, down on the floor with my six-year-old grandson, Anashe. Let’s build something with Lego, he suggested, jumping up and running to retrieve the blocks.
Thursday, March 31, 2016
OPINION -- With all the hubbub over the court case between the Haliburton Forest and the Municipality of Dysart et al, it has been hard to ignore the social media outcry and the effects it has had on our community.
Thursday, March 31, 2016
OPINION -- With anywhere between 25 and 50 mm of rain in the forecast, the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF) has extended a flood watch for the Gull and Burnt River watersheds.
Thursday, March 31, 2016
OPINION -- I failed, miserably. I made a green salad the other day to accompany lunch. “Nothing too difficult”, I hear you say, and I didn't think so either.
Sunday, March 27, 2016
OPINION -- So this is one of those columns. You know the ones where the writer reflects back after reaching some personal milestone.
Thursday, March 24, 2016
OPINION -- The other day, my lovely wife asked me if I'd like a set of golf clubs. I was perplexed. “But why,” I asked, regretting my question almost as soon as the words had left my lips.
Thursday, March 24, 2016
OPINION -- In a world where Twitter and Facebook spoil nearly every blockbuster movie before you see it - a twisted world that is – small newspapers like us are forced to embrace those social media tools and use them to provide readers
Thursday, March 17, 2016
OPINION -- There isn’t much to like about Donald Trump. The bombastic leader in the race for the Republican Party nomination, heading into November’s election, has carved a pretty broad swath on the election trail.
Thursday, March 17, 2016
OPINION -- Raised eyebrows are common lately when I tell people where I've been going every Tuesday afternoon: driver's education. Yes, at the ripe age of 34, mother of two and writer of stories, I am getting my licence.
Friday, March 11, 2016
OPINION -- In our daily lives, we tend to spew a lot of rhetoric, stuff we say or respond to that's really not thought out, or even very interesting.
Friday, March 11, 2016
OPINION -- Having friends come to stay can be, how shall I put it, somewhat stressful at times.
Thursday, March 10, 2016
OPINION -- We get excited when new businesses pop up in our county. The potential for year-round employment opportunities and products or services that attract and retain cottagers can be motivating for those of us who call this our home.
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- This could get confusing, so, right off the top, let's set a couple of things straight. I have two friends called Jeff. One is a work colleague and avid fisherman, the other is my hound dog.
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- What are you putting on your dog?French’s Mustard? Heinz Ketchup? Bick’s Relish?
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- Lately, I’ve been wondering if it’s just me or do other kids feel the same way about being the child of small business owners?
Thursday, March 3, 2016
OPINION -- I couldn’t help but smile when fans began to stomp their feet to distract St. Paul’s free throw shooters on Friday afternoon. It was a moment made possible by a group of very motivated young athletes whose actions have slowly sparked ...
4 5 6 7 8 9 10