Thursday, August 10, 2017
SPORTS -- The final weekend of July saw three former Highland Storm players head south to play hockey at the Beantown Classic in Boston, Maine.
Friday, June 9, 2017
SPORTS --- A friendly mountain bike race at Sir Sam’s Ski and Bike hooked its teeth into Minden’s Nick Emsley seven years ago.
Saturday, June 3, 2017
SPORTS --- Haliburton’s Carolyn Ellis tapped into something unexpected within herself before one of her team’s dragon boat races at the World Masters Games (WMG) in Auckland, New Zealand in April.
Saturday, May 27, 2017
SPORTS --- A North College vet tech student and a University of Ottawa mechanical engineering student are the recipients of the Minden Pharmasave, Highland Storm Minor Hockey scholarships for 2017.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
SPORTS --- Sterling Nesbitt is like any other 13-year-old girl. Her dress is picked out for Grade 8 graduation and she has a summer of baseball and beach days planned out. The difference is ...
Thursday, February 9, 2017
SPORTS --- The Canadian National Pond Hockey Championship turned many heads as drivers whizzed by the Pinestone Resort during the past two weeks, and event owner John Teljeur wants to keep it that way.
Wednesday, February 1, 2017
SPORTS -- Minden snowcross racer Izac Reid soars across his driveway on a new snowmobile while Bruiser, the family dog, happily chases him.
Monday, January 23, 2017
SPORTS -- Carnarvon skijorer Karen Koehler is looking forward to sleeping in her bed with her dogs cuddled up by her feet ahead of the 2017 International Federation of Sleddog Sports (IFSS) Sleddog World Championships at Haliburton Forest.
Friday, January 6, 2017
SPORTS -- Las Vegas rocks. Curling rocks that is.
Monday, November 28, 2016
SPORTS -- Logan DeBruin was 10 when he got his first taste of “The Last Great Race on Earth.”
Thursday, November 17, 2016
SPORTS -- Hockey reports for the Bancroft Jets hockey team.
Monday, October 24, 2016
EVENTS -- The Haliburton County Red Wolves Special Olympics team wants to see ghouls, goblins and other creepy characters join them for the seventh annual Halloween Bowl-a-thon on Oct. 29.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
SPORTS -- The Bancroft I.D.A. / Red Eagle Family Campground midget B girls hosted the Keene Wolverines Sunday afternoon in their home opener in Bancroft.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
BREAKING: Haliburton-raised Cody Hodgson has decided to call it a career at the age of 26.
Thursday, August 11, 2016
SPORTS -- Inspired by a recent trip to the Canadian Open, local golfer Randall Barry is ready to compete at this summer’s Highland Golf Series at Blairhampton.
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
SPORTS -- Owen Smith’s first trip to Michigan was a memorable one.
Thursday, August 4, 2016
SPORTS -- She calls soccer her happy place, and every summer while staying at a cottage on Drag Lake with her parents, Hayley Halliday travels from Houston Texas to Haliburton to experience it.
Sunday, July 31, 2016
SPORTS -- A number of young athletes are joining the Highland Storm hockey league for the first time, says Rich Smith, executive member of the hockey organization, and he is excited about the road that lies ahead for the young athletes.
Monday, July 25, 2016
SPORTS -- Fifteen-year-old McCaley Campbell travels from Brooklyn, ON, to Haliburton every week. A two-hour basketball workout at the Haliburton Highlands Secondary School gymnasium is their primary destination.
Sunday, July 3, 2016
VIDEO -- With more than a dozen cycling routes to explore and spectacular views of the countryside, the Haliburton Highlands is the perfect destination to visit during Bike Month.
Friday, June 24, 2016
SPORTS -- It might be unfamiliar territory for some athletes and coaches, but today’s Highland Storm Golf tournament might become an integral part of the hockey organization’s future.
Friday, June 17, 2016
SPORTS: Kenndal Marsden and Caleb Schmidt were named female and male athletes of the year at Tuesday’s Haliburton Highlands Secondary School’s (HHSS) 38th annual athletic banquet.
Thursday, May 26, 2016
SPORTS -- Matt Duchene is coming home next week with another gold gong for his trophy wall.
Thursday, April 14, 2016
SPORTS -- Owen Smith is realizing his dreams. The soft-spoken, well-mannered 15-year-old Minden resident was the youngest player to be chosen by the Ontario Hockey League's (OHL) Flint Firebirds during Saturday's Priority Selection.
1 2 3 4 5 6