Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION --- It's time this perceived community need goes to the county council table, since no one municipality should be burdened with the cost of building and operating a swimming pool.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- Will Jones isn't convinced that Haliburton needs a sports hall of fame.
Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION -- Perhaps most importantly is to see this as a societal issue that requires the attention of all of us. It is certainly not just a political or police problem.
Thursday, July 26, 2018
OPINION --- I love my dad, and as I finish writing this column, I'm happy that even after he's gone he's able to give me the inspiration, or introspection, needed to put my thoughts into words.
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- Then thousands of us spent the night by flickering candlelight, eating something mysterious out of a can, listening to the gentle sounds of nature (generators running nearby) while occasionally flicking the light switch ...
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- We encourage the public to attend a public meeting on short-term rentals in Minden Hills this Saturday.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- But, while I love my old truck, such affairs of the heart must always come to an end and I have recently got a new truck.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- Organizations like 100 Women Who Care provide another option for those wishing to make a difference in our community.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- So, bring on the parents-in-law, and I'll be outside all day at the barbecue, slow roasting a giant shoulder of pork.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- Now’s the time to bring it back to the table. Find out what it will cost with today’s technology, look into privacy laws and approach the municipality to see if they’d get behind it.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- It’s our attitudes that need to change, not what we call our homes. Cidiots and rubes can greatly help one another as long as you’re both willing to soften your stance just a little
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- In the last municipal election, Minden Hills got more newspaper ink that the other municipalities..this time around, it appears Dysart will draw more media attention than the other townships..
Thursday, August 2, 2018
OPINION --- So, my new truck is definitely too big for me but I'll get used to it because there's a whole army of you guys out there with trucks just as big and legs just as short as mine.
Thursday, August 23, 2018
OPINION --- Premier Ford has vowed to get Ontario's highways and roads back into shape. Let's hope this includes Haliburton County.
Thursday, August 23, 2018
OPINION --- The question is no longer about whether change is coming to Haliburton County or not, but about how we intend to deal with it when it arrives.
Thursday, August 23, 2018
OPINION --- Is 30 years long enough for a slow learner? I hope so but don't count on it, and don't lend me anything.
Thursday, September 6, 2018
OPINION --- Clearly there is a tremendous amount of fact-finding to be done before simply pronouncing Uber as the solution to the county's transportation needs.
Saturday, August 18, 2018
OPINION -- Every writer loves a metaphor, that turn of phrase which perfectly describes something without actually having anything to do with it, and it was as I mowed my backyard on the weekend that one such metaphor struck me.
Friday, August 17, 2018
OPINION -- You may not have noticed, but, just a couple of weeks ago, we quietly slipped into August. It is once again time to lock your vehicles.
Thursday, August 9, 2018
OPINION --- At the end of the day, it is the communities themselves - and the people that live there - that have to decide how short-term rentals can be accommodated in our future.
Thursday, August 9, 2018
OPINION --- So far, half of summer has whizzed by and I am sad that it is almost over. Before long, we will all be complaining about the cold and snow and wishing that summer was here again.
Thursday, August 9, 2018
OPINION --- First light was beautiful. I know because I was still awake. But, soon after, the thunder clouds rolled in and the wind stiffened. Time to admit defeat.
Friday, August 17, 2018
OPINION -- The Globe and Mail had an interesting story last week, titled: Locals in Ontario’s cottage country prepare for battle with big-city home buyers. The feature really didn’t come as any surprise to us.
Thursday, September 6, 2018
OPINION --- Voters should be asking questions of the candidates, reading their platforms online and in handouts and attending the all-candidates' meetings scheduled in the next couple of weeks.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7