Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- It used to be the baby boomers determined election results in this province and riding but the millennials are starting to make their mark too.
Friday, June 8, 2018
OPINION --- So, government ... I'll always distrust them. Realtors ... I'm goring to love them. And car salesmen, holy moly, when they are that good you 'pays your money and enjoys the ride.'
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- In response to the election of a Doug Ford government last Thursday, I thought the headline 'Ok, everyone take a Valium' would be an appropriate response.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- And you want to know the best bit, the most amazing thing about my perfect evening? I'm sitting in my own backyard.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- This lack of transparency showed an utter disrespect for the centre's staff and parents and put immeasurable stress on them with school holidays just around the corner.
Thursday, June 7, 2018
OPINION --- Read about how a 14-year-old from Haliburton spends a day on a lobster boat in N.B.
Thursday, June 7, 2018
OPINION --- Despite the fact three of the local provincial candidates are students, it didn’t entice many young voters to turn up for the recent all-candidates meeting.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- Forget gun amnesties. The Outsider is considering a potluck dish amnesty to return all of those extra items in his kitchen.
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- So, the only thing we can predict is a Scott win. As to what colour our province will be when we wake up June 8 - blue, orange, red -,we'll have to wait and see. If it does go Tory blue, what role will our Haliburton royalty have in it?
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- It's not an easy choice, but your vote matters. Do your homework and make sure it accurately and honestly reflects who you are and what you believe in while at the same time acknowledging the need for building a community.
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- And so this year, I'm starting my own trend and pioneering a new movement. It's called 'bring grass back' and it entails a quick rake over the dirt and the tossing of a sack of grass seeds, all over what was my veggie garden.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- What pleases me most about the Haliburton Junction Skate Park is how out of the norm this project has turned out to be.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- Others, who'd heard it before, simply sat back and let this new tradition born and bred in Haliburton boy spin his yarn and grow into a full-blooded hunting, fishing, storytelling local.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- Now’s the time to bring it back to the table. Find out what it will cost with today’s technology, look into privacy laws and approach the municipality to see if they’d get behind it.
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- It’s our attitudes that need to change, not what we call our homes. Cidiots and rubes can greatly help one another as long as you’re both willing to soften your stance just a little
Thursday, July 12, 2018
OPINION --- But, while I love my old truck, such affairs of the heart must always come to an end and I have recently got a new truck.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- We encourage the public to attend a public meeting on short-term rentals in Minden Hills this Saturday.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- So, bring on the parents-in-law, and I'll be outside all day at the barbecue, slow roasting a giant shoulder of pork.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- Organizations like 100 Women Who Care provide another option for those wishing to make a difference in our community.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- By all means, go and see the tiny house in Minden. They are pretty cool. Sit down on the couch, close your eyes, and think for a minute about what it would be like to be there in the middle of February in a Haliburton snowstorm.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- I was once, in a younger incarnations, a veggie, but I strayed (yes, it was the bacon that did it) and today I'm firmly on the dark - preferably pink in the middle - side.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- Anabelle Craig finishes her first year of high school and writes about what that experience was like.
Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- At a time when people lament that all news is doom and gloom, we can proudly point to our new section and say, actually there's a lot of good stuff going on around here ... and we can have a whole lot of fun with it as well.
Thursday, July 19, 2018
OPINION --- Will Jones isn't convinced that Haliburton needs a sports hall of fame.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7