Thursday, March 29, 2018
OPINION --- Churchill may have been less than perfect but he fought for our freedom and our right to be who we want to be.
Thursday, March 29, 2018
OPINION --- There is a beat everywhere. From the rhythmic cycle of the washing machine to the whisking of your eggs.
Monday, April 9, 2018
OPINION --- There are times and situations that just don;t need to be run by bots no matter how much easier it would make the process.
Monday, April 9, 2018
OPINION --- But leave our Easter alone, you marketeers. Let us celebrate in our own chosen ways and only make ourselves feel sick while eating chocolate in the form of bunnies, or eggs.
Monday, April 16, 2018
OPINION --- So, there is a lot of sadness in the current issue of The Highlander, but there is hope too.
Thursday, March 29, 2018
OPINION --- Let's aim for zero tolerance of workplace deaths and injuries on county constrution sites from here on in.
Friday, March 23, 2018
OPINION --- Could hockey really have originated in England?
Monday, March 19, 2018
OPINION --- The Outsider claims he can put the renovations off - after all, it's still winter!
Monday, March 19, 2018
OPINION --- County of Haliburton should have gone to job fair this week in Mississauga.
Friday, March 23, 2018
OPINION --- The seasonal cottage industry is the piston in Haliburton County's economic engine. If it doesn't fire, the rest of us don't either.
Friday, March 23, 2018
OPINION --- Do we need five elected bodies to oversee what are in many cases, similar responsibilities?
Monday, April 16, 2018
OPINION --- So, set your sniff tester on alert because the fodder will be coming thick and fast and the test will be getting a lot of use in the next few months.
Monday, April 16, 2018
OPINION --- "Yes they laughed at me. Someone even said 'ooo, Will, we'd never have guessed!"
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- I have been trying to battle my nerves since I started playing in front of people and, spoiler alert, it's not working so far.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- Elephants can mourn, dogs can be genuinely pleased to see you and beavers, well they just plain old enjoy taking the mickey out of us rural folks.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- If the feds and province want to broadcast news of grants, they need to do it in a timely manner before half the town already knows about it.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- I fear that after June 7, the option of planning for a single tier municipal structure could be removed from local hands and imposed on the county by Queen's Park.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- It's been a long winter and we all need to remember why we come here every summer, or live here all year long. Welcome back cottagers and visitors and welcome back summer.
Friday, April 27, 2018
OPINION --- Like I said, I'm in my first season but I reckon I'm getting the hang of the pothole hunt and I'm enjoying it too.
Thursday, April 19, 2018
OPINION --- It's time to elect municipal politicians who can get affordable housing built in Haliburton County,not just continue to talk about it.
Thursday, April 19, 2018
OPINION --- Feeding animals used to be a pleasurable past time for those who liked watching wild critters, and said critters used to like it too. Today, however, it;'s a no, no for all kinds of reasons.,
Friday, April 27, 2018
OPINION --- This is a health care experiment that is working and there is no reason it can't be duplicated elsewhere.
Friday, April 27, 2018
OPINION --- Accelerato doesn't last forever. Eventually the music slows and we get onto a pace that we can savour. A steady rhythm where the beat feels a bit more manageable.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- Forget gun amnesties. The Outsider is considering a potluck dish amnesty to return all of those extra items in his kitchen.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7