Friday, May 24, 2019
OPINION --- The last pieces of the Haliburton County internet puzzle is sitting on the minister and PM's desk. It's time for them to announce $71 million in funding.
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- What did libraries ever do to you, Doug? I mean, come on, they are practically defenseless. Why give them cuts?
Friday, May 24, 2019
OPINION --- Revovating for a living is one thing - but when you have to do work on your own home - well that's another thing altogether.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
OPINION --- We need to practice that common sense stuff: don't drink and swim or boat; don't go alone and wear that PFD.
Thursday, May 30, 2019
OPINION --- So, that's my ambition for this year, to make a potato cannon. I may moan about how difficult it is, or not.
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- The County of Haliburton does not appear to have the desire to make amalgamation happen.
Friday, May 17, 2019
OPINION --- Winter is over and it is time to adjust to the thousands of seasonal residents coming to Haliburton.
Thursday, May 2, 2019
OPINION --- The County of Haliburton needs to stop pretending that waiting is the answer when it comes to transportation.
Thursday, May 2, 2019
OPINION: They say that you are only as old as you feel and I have no issue with that.
Thursday, May 9, 2019
OPINION --- Whoever is leading municipal restructuring talk in Haliburton County should tell the public what its plans are.
Thursday, May 9, 2019
OPINION --- Little Z is playing a turkey in an upcoming play. The Outsider shot a turkey so the costume is just right.
Thursday, June 6, 2019
OPINION --- The global recycling crisis is hitting close to home. We can all do our little bit to help the environment.
Thursday, June 6, 2019
OPINION --- The thing was, we were standing around a red-hot burn barrel, the flames licking at the rim, and we were drinking very large margaritas.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
OPINION --- The howling of the bugs is upon us.
Thursday, July 4, 2019
OPINION ---The Minden Hills kids fishing derby made rising a little earlier than usual on July 1 worth every minute.
Thursday, July 4, 2019
OPINION --- I'm the kind of guy who likes a chat and a chortle while shopping. I like the proprietor to be on hand to answer the myriad questions I still have about fishing and hunting.
Thursday, July 11, 2019
OPINION --- Hmm, now I've said it, that doesn't sound too bad. Maybe he can just come back on his birthdays ... just don't tell his mother I said that.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
OPINION --- Dysart et al needs to do its homework as it raises the level of surveillance in the community.
Friday, June 21, 2019
OPINION --- Summer fishing trips are not the same when you lose a friend.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- Five years ago, in 2014, the TLDSB had 94 people on the sunshine list making just under $11 million. Last year, the list ballooned to 181 workers making just shy of $21 million.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- The Outsider thinks mowing - just like fireworks - should be banned during parts of the summer.
Thursday, June 13, 2019
OPINION --- There are more important problems the premier and his people should be setting their minds to solving. The availability of beer and wine is certainly not one of them.
Friday, June 21, 2019
OPINION --- Haliburton Highlands Health Service should reflect and learn after the Highland Wood evacuation.
Saturday, July 13, 2019
OPINION --- Nowadays, people cannot say that they didn't know. Both Parks Canada, the TSW and the CEWF provide volumes of information on their websites.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7