Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- I live in Minden Hills and was a little perplexed when I recently received a mail-out from Peterborough-Kawartha MP Mariam Monsef.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- Today, I saw fall. Literally. I watched it happen in such a subtle and wonderfully gentle way that I could almost sense the passing of the season. And it was truly beautiful.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- I see the idea of a swimming pool has raised its chlorine-drenched head again. The subject has come up in the discussion around the refurbishment of the S.G. Nesbitt Arena in Minden.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- We’ve had a lot of letters on the Gooderham post office issue.
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- Vegetarians read no further. Or maybe do if you've ever wondered what it could and should be like 'on the dark side.'
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- Allow me to dive headfirst (pun intended) into the current Minden Arena renovation debate.
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- “Come back when you’ve been here a while.” - Potential advertiser, 2011
Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- Ah, it's so fresh, so clean, so crisp ... so fall. The early mornings are chilly and bright, the dew thick and a frosty coating grips the garden for the first time.
Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- There were some flashbacks as I drove to Pearson International Airport in Toronto, Monday, Sept. 19.
Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- I have a love-hate affair with working weekends. It means being away from family and friends and the things I and we like to do. Of course, I also miss the much needed R and R.
Friday, September 23, 2016
OPINION -- From the outside looking in, it just appears to be a nothing story. Mere filler for a local paper most times in dire need of some filler.
Friday, September 23, 2016
OPINION -- I was disappointed that more stakeholders didn’t come out for Monday night’s meeting on the future of the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- I was surprised to see the skeletal frame at the side of the road … the light flowing through the bare bones … the scattered remains of the layers peeled back.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- Such is the regularity with which you'll spot a chap wearing a camouflage cap and T-shirt, camo pants even, in Haliburton County that you'd think hunting season was a year round affair.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- When it comes to business in Haliburton County, we’ve got a good news-bad news story going at the moment.
Friday, September 2, 2016
OPINION -- Since getting back home to Haliburton, I've been letting it all hang out, so to speak. I've been lounging full length on the couch. And, I've been enjoying doing it.
Friday, September 2, 2016
OPINION -- For the 350 people attending Green Party Leader Elizabeth May’s presentation last Thursday in Minden, there wasn’t much new in her speech.
Thursday, September 1, 2016
OPINION -- I flew back to Canada on May 15 – about the time Northern Alberta was battling a blaze so bad it was dubbed ‘the Beast.’
Thursday, August 25, 2016
OPINION -- Governments make mistakes. This statement will come as no surprise to anyone. Good governments own up to their mistakes and take action to rectify them.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- It was as the rain really set in, causing the horizon to blur and the grey-brown sea to merge with the gun metal grey sky that Little Z finally got perturbed. “But if we’re in Wales I want to see whales,” he said ...
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- Two weeks at sleepover camp. These are some letters home.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- There are many ways people mark summer’s mid-point. There is the calendar, of course. When we slip into August, there is a sense it is downhill from here.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- I’m trying to wrap my head around all of the Internet-related stories that we have encountered over the summer. I have to say that it is leaving me somewhat dazed and confused.
Thursday, August 11, 2016
OPINION -- So, we are in the midst of the fourth extended heat warming of this summer.
3 4 5 6 7 8 9