Friday, December 9, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- Today’s front page story on the turmoil surrounding the former Martinwood Resort is one very good example of The Highlander providing a public service.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- Damn it! Just when I thought I’d got it all, I’m left wanting once again.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- The other day, I was watching a commercial for a thing called Google Home which is basically an interactive little device that can do everything from set up appointments to turn off the lamps in your home upon request.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- When Algonquin Highlands Reeve Carol Moffatt ended her tenure as County Council warden last week, she renewed her call for change to the most senior elected official job in the Highlands.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Bored with anticipation,’ sort of a contradiction of terms, don’t you think? And yet, there I was, thinking about it and the fact that I was exactly that. You see, it was the second week of the rifle hunt for deer.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- If you were thinking, thank God that’s over, and we can stop hearing about the American election, sorry to disappoint you.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- Sometimes change isn’t easy. That was certainly the case when the Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) announced that it would be moving its spaces in Haliburton, Minden and Fenelon Falls.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Contrary to the image of youthful good looks that emanate from the fellow who peers out at you from the head of this column, I am actually pushing what most of us would call ‘middle age’ ...
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Without question, the recent U.S. election polarized people the world over, most noticeably feelings about the guy who ended up winning the presidency.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- The Beaver Theatre has a new owner who’s stirring up interest locally over his plans to reopen the Minden Theatre.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- By the time you read this missive, the gun hunt for deer will have been on for four days and many of the important questions about this year’s hunt will already have been answered.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- If there was any doubt of the importance of the arts in the Highlands, it was quickly dispelled at the second SPARC (Symposium for Performing Arts in Rural Communities). Hosted by the Arts Council Haliburton Highlands.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So, what did you dress up as on Halloween? And, did you upset anyone, or even worse offend them?
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- Few things are as divisive in communities like this one as is the subject of hunting.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So far, generous donors across the Highlands have raised $925,000 through the Haliburton Highlands Health Services Foundation (HHHSF) Making Moments Matter campaign. County residents still have $325,000 to come up with. That is a lot of money
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- The personal playlist, hmm. I don’t have one because it seems my cell phone is not ‘smart’ enough to remember such things.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- I took advantage of a few warm and dry days last week to clean up the vegetable garden at our place.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- We can’t help but admire the Wiso family for their courageous decision to leave their home of Aleppo, Syria, spend some difficult years in Lebanon and then come to Haliburton.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- Alas, that time of year has arrived, signaled by a shiver and an involuntary hunching of shoulders as you leave the house, championed by the crisp, twinkling beauty laid down over night by Jack Frost.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- Sometimes thankfully there is a nice sense of balance in our world, at least in our local world. The original story here is kind of tired (and frankly embarrassing) by now.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- I live in Minden Hills and was a little perplexed when I recently received a mail-out from Peterborough-Kawartha MP Mariam Monsef.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- Today, I saw fall. Literally. I watched it happen in such a subtle and wonderfully gentle way that I could almost sense the passing of the season. And it was truly beautiful.
3 4 5 6 7 8 9