Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- There were some flashbacks as I drove to Pearson International Airport in Toronto, Monday, Sept. 19.
Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- I have a love-hate affair with working weekends. It means being away from family and friends and the things I and we like to do. Of course, I also miss the much needed R and R.
Friday, September 23, 2016
OPINION -- From the outside looking in, it just appears to be a nothing story. Mere filler for a local paper most times in dire need of some filler.
Friday, September 23, 2016
OPINION -- I was disappointed that more stakeholders didn’t come out for Monday night’s meeting on the future of the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- I was surprised to see the skeletal frame at the side of the road … the light flowing through the bare bones … the scattered remains of the layers peeled back.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- Such is the regularity with which you'll spot a chap wearing a camouflage cap and T-shirt, camo pants even, in Haliburton County that you'd think hunting season was a year round affair.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
OPINION -- When it comes to business in Haliburton County, we’ve got a good news-bad news story going at the moment.
Friday, September 2, 2016
OPINION -- Since getting back home to Haliburton, I've been letting it all hang out, so to speak. I've been lounging full length on the couch. And, I've been enjoying doing it.
Friday, September 2, 2016
OPINION -- For the 350 people attending Green Party Leader Elizabeth May’s presentation last Thursday in Minden, there wasn’t much new in her speech.
Thursday, September 1, 2016
OPINION -- I flew back to Canada on May 15 – about the time Northern Alberta was battling a blaze so bad it was dubbed ‘the Beast.’
Thursday, August 25, 2016
OPINION -- Governments make mistakes. This statement will come as no surprise to anyone. Good governments own up to their mistakes and take action to rectify them.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- It was as the rain really set in, causing the horizon to blur and the grey-brown sea to merge with the gun metal grey sky that Little Z finally got perturbed. “But if we’re in Wales I want to see whales,” he said ...
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- Two weeks at sleepover camp. These are some letters home.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- There are many ways people mark summer’s mid-point. There is the calendar, of course. When we slip into August, there is a sense it is downhill from here.
Friday, August 19, 2016
OPINION -- I’m trying to wrap my head around all of the Internet-related stories that we have encountered over the summer. I have to say that it is leaving me somewhat dazed and confused.
Thursday, August 11, 2016
OPINION -- So, we are in the midst of the fourth extended heat warming of this summer.
Thursday, August 4, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Letting it go back to nature...’ It sounds somehow quite generous, even sort of charitable maybe. Like I’m a big hearted soul who is willingly allowing something to step out from my shadow ...
Thursday, August 4, 2016
OPINION -- A source of mine, who used to be a paramedic in Ontario, told me an interesting story yesterday.
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- Many years ago, when I was first employed to write stuff, the powers that be very wisely thought it best that I get a little instruction on how to structure an essay or article, and so it was that I learned about micro and macro ...
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- If there's one thing you realize when you travel around enough, it's that we're really not all that different
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- Having worked in the Highlands for nearly seven weeks, I can say that the number one impediment to doing my job is the lack of high speed Internet.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- “Do you know how many shopping days there are until Christmas? Only….” I’d stopped listening.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- It is that amazing time of year here in Haliburton County, where cottagers are up, kids are out of school, fruits and veggies are in season and the beaches are open.
2 3 4 5 6 7 8