Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- I know it’s spring because of the drip drip drip and the army of big fat hairy flies that have emerged from who knows where to live in my office. The darn things are visibly happy about the warming of the weather.
Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- Talk around the restaurant table last week quickly turned from the topic of the American President to the passing of Canadian broadcaster Stuart McLean. It wasn’t that Trump couldn’t have filled the lunch hour gabfest ...
Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- On Friday, I went to ServiceOntario in Minden.
Sunday, February 19, 2017
OPINION: StatsCan released its first set of numbers from the 2016 census last week. We are growing quicker than the provincial and national averages.
Thursday, February 16, 2017
OPINION -- Ladies of the night are much easier to spot than iguanas. And by ladies of the night I don’t mean some species of pretty butterfly.
Friday, February 10, 2017
There has been a lot of talk about the role of the upper-tier of municipal government and its leader, the warden.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
OPINION -- Last week, I thought my lovely wife might be going out of her mind. And, it had nothing to do with me. Honest.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
OPINION -- It all started back on Dec. 8, 2016, when a Ms. Jennifer Cureton, director of philanthropy and communications for the YWCA – Peterborough/Haliburton, appeared on a Minden Hills council agenda with a request for financial assistance ...
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- I spent last weekend split between two first-class events that were being hosted in Haliburton County.
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- Our front and page three stories in today’s Highlander show how local councils can expose themselves to complaints of favouritsm.
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- A memorable day to forget Have you ever had ‘one of those days’? No, really, one of those days. The kind of day that delivers up so many obstacles and surprises that eventually you are at a loss as to what to expect next.
Saturday, January 21, 2017
OPINION -- Our coverage on short-term rentals in last week’s edition has certainly touched a nerve across the county.
Thursday, January 19, 2017
OPINION -- “If it’s one, two, then through, you’re good to go,” explains a friend of mine but I’m not so sure I’m going to take his advice.
Thursday, January 19, 2017
There is a character in the Game of Thrones by the name of Varys who takes great pride in listening to his "little birds," which translates to spies.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- A few months ago, I wrote an article on disability and the kindness of friends ... my story this week is an update on my folks and how our culture, specifically our health care system, looks after older people.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- Sometimes, when I’m a little lacking on the inspiration front, I ask my family what I should write about for my next column.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- I spent more time in the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena over the Christmas break than I have in the last five years.
Thursday, January 12, 2017
OPINION -- In days gone by, people up here used to rent cottages via word of mouth. They generally leased to a family member, or friend, or friend of a friend and knew that the people who were using their cottage were doing so respectfully.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- Do you know just how long it took Darth Vader and his minions to build the massive fleet of destroyers, fighter ships and those giant metal walking things that look like demonic cows, to defeat the resistance, do you? I do.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- Would you consider Haliburton County to be truly progressive? That buzz word is bandied about so much these days that it’s become almost impotent in its meaning.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- With due respect to local politicians elated at an apparent victory in their lobbying for better Internet, the CRTC’s ruling before Christmas declaring broadband a basic service is not all it’s cracked up to be.
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- As the sweat poured off of me and my legs buckled for the fifth time, I caught my breath and thought ‘what have I done?'
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- There are many ways the Christmas spirit can touch you at this time of year.
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- The fact the only life-saving shelter for women and children in our county was closed for five months seems to have gone largely under the radar locally.
2 3 4 5 6 7 8