Thursday, August 4, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Letting it go back to nature...’ It sounds somehow quite generous, even sort of charitable maybe. Like I’m a big hearted soul who is willingly allowing something to step out from my shadow ...
Thursday, August 4, 2016
OPINION -- A source of mine, who used to be a paramedic in Ontario, told me an interesting story yesterday.
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- Many years ago, when I was first employed to write stuff, the powers that be very wisely thought it best that I get a little instruction on how to structure an essay or article, and so it was that I learned about micro and macro ...
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- If there's one thing you realize when you travel around enough, it's that we're really not all that different
Thursday, July 28, 2016
OPINION -- Having worked in the Highlands for nearly seven weeks, I can say that the number one impediment to doing my job is the lack of high speed Internet.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- “Do you know how many shopping days there are until Christmas? Only….” I’d stopped listening.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- It is that amazing time of year here in Haliburton County, where cottagers are up, kids are out of school, fruits and veggies are in season and the beaches are open.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- One thing is certain about the recent on again, off again postal dispute. When all the dust settles, there will be no winners.
Thursday, July 21, 2016
OPINION -- It was good to have the new Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) detachment commander hold a meet-and-greet with the local media last Friday.
Sunday, July 17, 2016
OPINION -- Tourists, eh what with their ridiculously fast-paced, later is not an option, kill or be killed, vacation attitudes.
Thursday, July 14, 2016
OPINION -- I heard about the recent homophobia levelled at a local pet groomer who had returned to his business after a short social engagement to find the word “fag” spray-painted on his front window, and, frankly, the news ...
Thursday, July 14, 2016
OPINION -- I worked my second Saturday this past weekend and was overwhelmed by the number of lake association annual general meetings that were going on. Many of them had skipped over the Canada Day long weekend and instead held their meetings July 9-10.
Thursday, July 7, 2016
OPINION -- Ever heard of the beer saddle? No. I didn't think so. That's because it hasn't been invented yet.
Thursday, July 7, 2016
OPINION -- The Haliburton County Public Library’s 2015 annual report was on the agenda, and while no one from the library spoke at the meeting, the report spoke for itself.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - Hello Canadiana, hope all is good. I now, more than ever, realize what a good move of yours it was to f#@& off and live across the pond.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - I was thinking today about how awesome you are Canada.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - “Haliburton County is the most beautiful place in the world.” I’ve often heard that sentiment around town and while it’s endearing, it’s not really accurate.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - Celebrating historic milestones may help the Haliburton Highlands Health Services (HHHS) better cope with some of the challenges it now faces.
Friday, June 24, 2016
OPINION -- Self sufficiency is a trait that I am attempting to promote in my life here in rural Canada.
Friday, June 24, 2016
OPINION -- With the best of intentions, it has been suggested that the Haliburton Highlands should consider hosting its own Pride event.
Thursday, June 23, 2016
OPINION -- Mahatma Gandhi said, “A nation’s greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members.”
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- In the 1960’s some influential artists and art critics announced that art as we knew it, was dead.
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- June is a wonderful month. It is the official month of summer, school is out after a long year and the fun begins. The wildlife is awake and active and you can find lots of birds, bugs, frogs, toads, snakes, and or course, my favourite, turtle
2 3 4 5 6 7 8