Thursday, July 14, 2016
OPINION -- I heard about the recent homophobia levelled at a local pet groomer who had returned to his business after a short social engagement to find the word “fag” spray-painted on his front window, and, frankly, the news ...
Thursday, July 14, 2016
OPINION -- I worked my second Saturday this past weekend and was overwhelmed by the number of lake association annual general meetings that were going on. Many of them had skipped over the Canada Day long weekend and instead held their meetings July 9-10.
Thursday, July 7, 2016
OPINION -- Ever heard of the beer saddle? No. I didn't think so. That's because it hasn't been invented yet.
Thursday, July 7, 2016
OPINION -- The Haliburton County Public Library’s 2015 annual report was on the agenda, and while no one from the library spoke at the meeting, the report spoke for itself.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - Hello Canadiana, hope all is good. I now, more than ever, realize what a good move of yours it was to f#@& off and live across the pond.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - I was thinking today about how awesome you are Canada.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - “Haliburton County is the most beautiful place in the world.” I’ve often heard that sentiment around town and while it’s endearing, it’s not really accurate.
Thursday, June 30, 2016
OPINION - Celebrating historic milestones may help the Haliburton Highlands Health Services (HHHS) better cope with some of the challenges it now faces.
Friday, June 24, 2016
OPINION -- Self sufficiency is a trait that I am attempting to promote in my life here in rural Canada.
Friday, June 24, 2016
OPINION -- With the best of intentions, it has been suggested that the Haliburton Highlands should consider hosting its own Pride event.
Thursday, June 23, 2016
OPINION -- Mahatma Gandhi said, “A nation’s greatness is measured by how it treats its weakest members.”
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- In the 1960’s some influential artists and art critics announced that art as we knew it, was dead.
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- June is a wonderful month. It is the official month of summer, school is out after a long year and the fun begins. The wildlife is awake and active and you can find lots of birds, bugs, frogs, toads, snakes, and or course, my favourite, turtle
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- Go on, just say it. And as you do, think about the shape that your lips are making. “Cheeeeese...” You’re grinning, right? Obviously.
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- This column isn't about another senseless act of violence south of the border. It isn't about preaching for more gun control or tighter security checks for people wanting to purchase a gun.
Thursday, June 16, 2016
OPINION -- Hi. My name is Lisa Gervais and I am the new editor of your Haliburton Highlander. Notice I say ‘your’ Highlander because I truly believe that a community newspaper belongs to the community.
Thursday, June 9, 2016
OPINION ~ Even now as I bask in the glory of my middle life, I believe, for the most part that my dad knows best. He is the guy that I’ll go to if I’m in a jam. If I don’t know how to do something practical...
Thursday, June 9, 2016
OPINION ~ There was a time in Ontario when the provincial government’s presence was the mainstay of many rural communities. I lived most of my life outside of what we call urban areas. In that time I have become acutely aware of the impact...
Thursday, June 9, 2016
OPINION ~ Editorials are meant to pose an argument, expand through a discussion and wind up with a ringing conclusion. So here goes. Let’s hear it for dragonflies!
Thursday, June 2, 2016
OPINION -- You know how you feel when you break or ruin something that's really precious to you; something that for one reason or another means the world to you?
Thursday, June 2, 2016
OPINION -- Without question the news that a Syrian refugee family would be coming to Haliburton County sometime in mid 2016 rippled through the community.
Thursday, June 2, 2016
OPINION -- The protracted struggle between the Trillium Lakeland District School Board and its high school teachers has many puzzling elements.
Thursday, May 26, 2016
OPINION -- The other day it seems that our Prime Minister got into a bit of a dustup, 'a bit of' being the appropriate words to describe the farcical scenes, and you know what, it reminded me of being back in Blighty.
Thursday, May 26, 2016
OPINION -- The first weekend of the summer is always exhausting, even if you are not part of the migratory tidal wave that comes trundling up and then back down the highway.
2 3 4 5 6 7 8