Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- If you were thinking, thank God that’s over, and we can stop hearing about the American election, sorry to disappoint you.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- Sometimes change isn’t easy. That was certainly the case when the Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) announced that it would be moving its spaces in Haliburton, Minden and Fenelon Falls.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Contrary to the image of youthful good looks that emanate from the fellow who peers out at you from the head of this column, I am actually pushing what most of us would call ‘middle age’ ...
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Without question, the recent U.S. election polarized people the world over, most noticeably feelings about the guy who ended up winning the presidency.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- The Beaver Theatre has a new owner who’s stirring up interest locally over his plans to reopen the Minden Theatre.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- By the time you read this missive, the gun hunt for deer will have been on for four days and many of the important questions about this year’s hunt will already have been answered.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- If there was any doubt of the importance of the arts in the Highlands, it was quickly dispelled at the second SPARC (Symposium for Performing Arts in Rural Communities). Hosted by the Arts Council Haliburton Highlands.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- I’m not going to lie; my first few weeks in Haliburton last year were rough.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So, what did you dress up as on Halloween? And, did you upset anyone, or even worse offend them?
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- Few things are as divisive in communities like this one as is the subject of hunting.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So far, generous donors across the Highlands have raised $925,000 through the Haliburton Highlands Health Services Foundation (HHHSF) Making Moments Matter campaign. County residents still have $325,000 to come up with. That is a lot of money
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- The personal playlist, hmm. I don’t have one because it seems my cell phone is not ‘smart’ enough to remember such things.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- I took advantage of a few warm and dry days last week to clean up the vegetable garden at our place.
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- We can’t help but admire the Wiso family for their courageous decision to leave their home of Aleppo, Syria, spend some difficult years in Lebanon and then come to Haliburton.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- Alas, that time of year has arrived, signaled by a shiver and an involuntary hunching of shoulders as you leave the house, championed by the crisp, twinkling beauty laid down over night by Jack Frost.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- Sometimes thankfully there is a nice sense of balance in our world, at least in our local world. The original story here is kind of tired (and frankly embarrassing) by now.
Thursday, October 20, 2016
OPINION -- I live in Minden Hills and was a little perplexed when I recently received a mail-out from Peterborough-Kawartha MP Mariam Monsef.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- Today, I saw fall. Literally. I watched it happen in such a subtle and wonderfully gentle way that I could almost sense the passing of the season. And it was truly beautiful.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- I see the idea of a swimming pool has raised its chlorine-drenched head again. The subject has come up in the discussion around the refurbishment of the S.G. Nesbitt Arena in Minden.
Thursday, October 13, 2016
OPINION -- We’ve had a lot of letters on the Gooderham post office issue.
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- Vegetarians read no further. Or maybe do if you've ever wondered what it could and should be like 'on the dark side.'
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- Allow me to dive headfirst (pun intended) into the current Minden Arena renovation debate.
Thursday, October 6, 2016
OPINION -- “Come back when you’ve been here a while.” - Potential advertiser, 2011
Thursday, September 29, 2016
OPINION -- Ah, it's so fresh, so clean, so crisp ... so fall. The early mornings are chilly and bright, the dew thick and a frosty coating grips the garden for the first time.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7