Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- There are many ways the Christmas spirit can touch you at this time of year.
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- The fact the only life-saving shelter for women and children in our county was closed for five months seems to have gone largely under the radar locally.
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Canning Lake is located at the bottom end of Lake Kashagawigamog and connects to that lake through the narrows at Ingoldsby.
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Are you one of those people who get really upset when someone uses “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings” rather than the “proper” “Merry Christmas?”
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Some Haliburton County residents are downright miserable at the arrival of winter. But for others, all of this white makes for a whole lot of green.
Friday, December 9, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- Today’s front page story on the turmoil surrounding the former Martinwood Resort is one very good example of The Highlander providing a public service.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- Damn it! Just when I thought I’d got it all, I’m left wanting once again.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- The other day, I was watching a commercial for a thing called Google Home which is basically an interactive little device that can do everything from set up appointments to turn off the lamps in your home upon request.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- When Algonquin Highlands Reeve Carol Moffatt ended her tenure as County Council warden last week, she renewed her call for change to the most senior elected official job in the Highlands.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Bored with anticipation,’ sort of a contradiction of terms, don’t you think? And yet, there I was, thinking about it and the fact that I was exactly that. You see, it was the second week of the rifle hunt for deer.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- If you were thinking, thank God that’s over, and we can stop hearing about the American election, sorry to disappoint you.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- Sometimes change isn’t easy. That was certainly the case when the Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) announced that it would be moving its spaces in Haliburton, Minden and Fenelon Falls.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Contrary to the image of youthful good looks that emanate from the fellow who peers out at you from the head of this column, I am actually pushing what most of us would call ‘middle age’ ...
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- Without question, the recent U.S. election polarized people the world over, most noticeably feelings about the guy who ended up winning the presidency.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
OPINION -- The Beaver Theatre has a new owner who’s stirring up interest locally over his plans to reopen the Minden Theatre.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- By the time you read this missive, the gun hunt for deer will have been on for four days and many of the important questions about this year’s hunt will already have been answered.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- If there was any doubt of the importance of the arts in the Highlands, it was quickly dispelled at the second SPARC (Symposium for Performing Arts in Rural Communities). Hosted by the Arts Council Haliburton Highlands.
Thursday, November 10, 2016
OPINION -- I’m not going to lie; my first few weeks in Haliburton last year were rough.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So, what did you dress up as on Halloween? And, did you upset anyone, or even worse offend them?
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- Few things are as divisive in communities like this one as is the subject of hunting.
Thursday, November 3, 2016
OPINION -- So far, generous donors across the Highlands have raised $925,000 through the Haliburton Highlands Health Services Foundation (HHHSF) Making Moments Matter campaign. County residents still have $325,000 to come up with. That is a lot of money
Thursday, October 27, 2016
OPINION -- The personal playlist, hmm. I don’t have one because it seems my cell phone is not ‘smart’ enough to remember such things.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7