Sunday, May 7, 2017
OPINION --- Have you ever thought of what Haliburton County’s economy will look like in the next couple of decades? I’m not talking about the normal tides and the ups and downs of commerce.
Thursday, May 4, 2017
OPINION --- Businesses in the Highlands have a way of handling the ebbs and flows that come with being in a rural, seasonal community rather well.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- Damn it! I knew there were a couple of things that I hated about the end of winter and this weekend has seen both of them materialize.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- People have expressed concern that I am cultivating an unhealthy relationship with the dump.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- Summer is drawing closer, and townships across the county are working hard to make sure they achieve that summer glow our seasonal (and permanent) residents expect. But before we flip that switch ...
Friday, April 21, 2017
OPINION -- It was as if I’d been scuba diving and there was a malfunction with my breathing apparatus. My chest was tight and panic had begun to set in.
Thursday, April 20, 2017
OPINION --- We’re wrapping our heads around the first big election promise Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has kept: the legalization of marijuana. We thought it might take our minds off of that whole electoral reform fiasco.
Monday, April 17, 2017
OPINION --- Dear Kathleen, Haliburton County here. Just thought we’d write to let you know ...
Thursday, April 6, 2017
OPINION --- No, it is, really. The odd bout of freezing rain or wallop of snow notwithstanding, it is definitely spring now.
Thursday, April 6, 2017
OPINION --- It was certainly a more innocent time, you know, when the circus came to town. Dozens of rail cars would pull into the Kitchener train station and the circus wagons would be driven off the flat beds.
Thursday, April 6, 2017
OPINION --- Places for People is inviting the public to have a look at their new acquisition in Minden next Wednesday.
Thursday, March 30, 2017
OPINION --- My lovely wife is a wonderful person for many reasons, some of which I could shout from the rooftops others that I’d prefer to keep secret but in one respect she is most definitely the best.
Thursday, March 30, 2017
OPINION --- It’s been a time of loss and giving in the County of Haliburton.
Friday, March 24, 2017
OPINION --- There is often an odd relationship between a publisher and a managing editor. While they both work for the same company and presumably share the values that will see the newspaper succeed ...
Thursday, March 23, 2017
OPINION --- On one day a month, for as long as we can remember, there’s been a Minden court.
Thursday, March 23, 2017
OPINION -- Back in Blighty, there used to be this TV program where three middle-aged men grouched about everything, from sports results to the state of British politics, from the cost of a plane ticket to the price of a can of beans, oh how they moaned.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- The tooth fairy has been rather busy at our house, recently.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- For me, this is the time of year for reflection; to both look back at the year just past, and ahead to what the next few months might reveal.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- I’ve covered chamber of commerce awards in places such as Dauphin and Brandon, Manitoba, Sudbury, Bathurst and Mudgee in Australia and recently, Lindsay. But Saturday night was my first experience with the chamber of commerce business awards ..
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- Last week, we installed a very fancy, new digital sound system in a clients’ home. But, and here’s the ironic thing, we had to hook it up to the record player.
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- I think I am like most Canadians … while I find paying taxes irksome, I also realize taxes grease the wheels of a civil society.
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- We ask readers to have a look at Jeannine Espie’s letter in today’s Highlander. Espie is an Eagle Lake-area homeowner who works for Vasey Insurance Brokers Ltd.
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
OPINION -- So, if we learned anything from the recent rejection of a proposal by developers to put a gas station beside the Tim Hortons in Haliburton it’s this: we’re running out of room.
Thursday, March 2, 2017
OPINION -- There were 472 dental-related visits to the Haliburton Hospital in 2012. Those visits cost Ontario’s health care system $513 per visit. That is $242,136. Yes, almost a quarter-of-a-million dollars.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7