Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- A memorable day to forget Have you ever had ‘one of those days’? No, really, one of those days. The kind of day that delivers up so many obstacles and surprises that eventually you are at a loss as to what to expect next.
Saturday, January 21, 2017
OPINION -- Our coverage on short-term rentals in last week’s edition has certainly touched a nerve across the county.
Thursday, January 19, 2017
OPINION -- “If it’s one, two, then through, you’re good to go,” explains a friend of mine but I’m not so sure I’m going to take his advice.
Thursday, January 19, 2017
There is a character in the Game of Thrones by the name of Varys who takes great pride in listening to his "little birds," which translates to spies.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- A few months ago, I wrote an article on disability and the kindness of friends ... my story this week is an update on my folks and how our culture, specifically our health care system, looks after older people.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- Sometimes, when I’m a little lacking on the inspiration front, I ask my family what I should write about for my next column.
Friday, January 13, 2017
OPINION -- I spent more time in the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena over the Christmas break than I have in the last five years.
Thursday, January 12, 2017
OPINION -- In days gone by, people up here used to rent cottages via word of mouth. They generally leased to a family member, or friend, or friend of a friend and knew that the people who were using their cottage were doing so respectfully.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- Do you know just how long it took Darth Vader and his minions to build the massive fleet of destroyers, fighter ships and those giant metal walking things that look like demonic cows, to defeat the resistance, do you? I do.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- Would you consider Haliburton County to be truly progressive? That buzz word is bandied about so much these days that it’s become almost impotent in its meaning.
Thursday, January 5, 2017
OPINION -- With due respect to local politicians elated at an apparent victory in their lobbying for better Internet, the CRTC’s ruling before Christmas declaring broadband a basic service is not all it’s cracked up to be.
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- As the sweat poured off of me and my legs buckled for the fifth time, I caught my breath and thought ‘what have I done?'
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- There are many ways the Christmas spirit can touch you at this time of year.
Tuesday, December 27, 2016
OPINION -- The fact the only life-saving shelter for women and children in our county was closed for five months seems to have gone largely under the radar locally.
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Canning Lake is located at the bottom end of Lake Kashagawigamog and connects to that lake through the narrows at Ingoldsby.
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Are you one of those people who get really upset when someone uses “Happy Holidays” or “Season’s Greetings” rather than the “proper” “Merry Christmas?”
Friday, December 16, 2016
OPINION -- Some Haliburton County residents are downright miserable at the arrival of winter. But for others, all of this white makes for a whole lot of green.
Friday, December 9, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- Today’s front page story on the turmoil surrounding the former Martinwood Resort is one very good example of The Highlander providing a public service.
Thursday, December 8, 2016
OPINION -- It was obvious to me the moment I walked into the Galaxy Multiplex, it had been a long time since I had gone to the movies.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- Damn it! Just when I thought I’d got it all, I’m left wanting once again.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- The other day, I was watching a commercial for a thing called Google Home which is basically an interactive little device that can do everything from set up appointments to turn off the lamps in your home upon request.
Thursday, December 1, 2016
OPINION -- When Algonquin Highlands Reeve Carol Moffatt ended her tenure as County Council warden last week, she renewed her call for change to the most senior elected official job in the Highlands.
Friday, November 25, 2016
OPINION -- ‘Bored with anticipation,’ sort of a contradiction of terms, don’t you think? And yet, there I was, thinking about it and the fact that I was exactly that. You see, it was the second week of the rifle hunt for deer.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7