Friday, August 15, 2014
OPINION -- Ceramics is an art form that has always interested me (and yes, when it’s done exceptionally well it can be considered art). For a while now I’ve wanted to get my hands in some clay; make something, and then write about the experience.
Friday, August 15, 2014
OPINION -- The child screamed. His parents, immediately alert, rushed to see what had happened. In the panic, glasses smashed and an innocent bystander was brushed roughly aside. And then, there it was, the body floating motionless in the water, eyes open
Thursday, August 14, 2014
OPINION -- I am sure that many of you wouldn’t think of me as funny if you have been reading my columns on a regular basis, but I am a comedic person. I love making other people laugh. I just need to figure out how to do that without drawing too much
Thursday, August 7, 2014
EDITORIAL -- By now almost everyone has heard about the fatality on Glamorgan Road over the weekend. If you haven’t, you can read about it in this week’s Highlander. A motorcyclist was riding down a notoriously windy road when he collided with
Thursday, August 7, 2014
OPINION -- Step right up kids, it's the circle of life. See, I put the worm on this hook.Why are you putting a worm on the hook Uncle Scratchy So we can catch a fish. I want to touch the worm! Ok, you can touch the worm. Now, take the rod
Thursday, August 7, 2014
OPINION -- I am unsure about politics. From what I have seen on television and the news, politicians seem to me to be responsible for a lot of unnecessary conflicts and woe for the working population. I have seen jobs cut and school funding and healthcare
Thursday, August 7, 2014
OPINION: Derek first heard it, a thunderous rumbling upriver headed his way. Obviously a log had been let out at the dam, raising the water level and sending a gush of newly released volume to make its way downstream. One lake down from the dam, beaches
Thursday, August 7, 2014
OPINION -- I’m sitting on the dock at the cottage, laptop actually where its name suggests, on my lap, as I write this column. It feels kind of weird, working while looking out over the lake, but this is what living in Cottage Country is all about, eh?
Thursday, July 31, 2014
OPINION: Last week, councillor Brigitte Gall – who was seeking reelection in Ward 1 – changed her nomination to try for reeve. She said there weren’t any candidates she could get behind and the community was getting discouraged, so she decided to go for i
Thursday, July 31, 2014
OPINION: We’ve tried every form of natural induction we can think of, save for the dreaded castor oil. My mouth is raw from pineapple and I can tell you how many stairs there are leading to the top of the Dorset Tower. If walking induces labour, I only
Thursday, July 31, 2014
OPINION: Have you ever been caught in an awkward situation; one of those instances where you just don't know where to put yourself? I know I have. May be it's my reserved English nature or perhaps the inherent ability I have for putting my foot in it, eit
Thursday, July 31, 2014
OPINION: I, Austin Connor McGillion, am pedantic. What, you wonder, does this mean? Most people speak in a very natural way, using contractions and truncated speech, while I, on the other hand, speak very formally.
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
My driving dilemma By Austin McGillion - Through My

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
OPINION -- I got a growler at the weekend, all brown and bubbly it was.
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
OPINION -- Though the county appears calm this time of year, frantic action is happening below the surface.

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 23, 2014
OPINION -- I love to fish. Growing up in Callander – a small town just outside of North Bay, nestled along Lake Nippissing – I was fortunate to live about five minutes from my grandparents’ house.

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
Chickens and eggs By Austin McGillion - Through My

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
OPINION - The Outsider tries his hand at wakeskating

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
OPINION - I become infatuated very easily, and my big mouth ensures that everyone knows what I’ve fallen for at any given moment.

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Wednesday, July 16, 2014
OPINION - The best thing about municipal politics is the access we have to our local politicians.

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Thursday, July 10, 2014
OPINION -- There are two things I do not handle well: pressure from outside sources, and being asked to do something immediately. Going shopping without knowing a few days in advance or suddenly being asked to write a column ...

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Thursday, July 10, 2014
OPINION -- Thank you Barb. Thank you Barb for reigniting my interest in local politics. Up until now I have been utterly and completely disengaged as to the political wranglings in our municipal offices...

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Thursday, July 10, 2014
OPINION -- Bob Dylan may have better rhymes, and the Kingston Trio more soothing harmonies, but if you find yourself missing the days of the mighty protest song there's good news: a revival is happening right here in Ontario.

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
Thursday, July 10, 2014
OPINION -- I recently took a ride through the trails in Highlands East. It took almost a day’s riding to get from Harcourt through to Gooderham and back again, but what a good day it was. From a beautiful waterfall to an old bridge ...

Rate This Page

0 Ratings
23 24 25 26 27 28 29