Sunday, July 8, 2018
OPINION --- At a time when people lament that all news is doom and gloom, we can proudly point to our new section and say, actually there's a lot of good stuff going on around here ... and we can have a whole lot of fun with it as well.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- Anabelle Craig finishes her first year of high school and writes about what that experience was like.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- I was once, in a younger incarnations, a veggie, but I strayed (yes, it was the bacon that did it) and today I'm firmly on the dark - preferably pink in the middle - side.
Thursday, June 28, 2018
OPINION --- By all means, go and see the tiny house in Minden. They are pretty cool. Sit down on the couch, close your eyes, and think for a minute about what it would be like to be there in the middle of February in a Haliburton snowstorm.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- Others, who'd heard it before, simply sat back and let this new tradition born and bred in Haliburton boy spin his yarn and grow into a full-blooded hunting, fishing, storytelling local.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- What pleases me most about the Haliburton Junction Skate Park is how out of the norm this project has turned out to be.
Saturday, June 23, 2018
OPINION --- This lack of transparency showed an utter disrespect for the centre's staff and parents and put immeasurable stress on them with school holidays just around the corner.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- And you want to know the best bit, the most amazing thing about my perfect evening? I'm sitting in my own backyard.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- In response to the election of a Doug Ford government last Thursday, I thought the headline 'Ok, everyone take a Valium' would be an appropriate response.
Friday, June 15, 2018
OPINION --- It used to be the baby boomers determined election results in this province and riding but the millennials are starting to make their mark too.
Friday, June 8, 2018
OPINION --- So, government ... I'll always distrust them. Realtors ... I'm goring to love them. And car salesmen, holy moly, when they are that good you 'pays your money and enjoys the ride.'
Thursday, June 7, 2018
OPINION --- Read about how a 14-year-old from Haliburton spends a day on a lobster boat in N.B.
Thursday, June 7, 2018
OPINION --- Despite the fact three of the local provincial candidates are students, it didn’t entice many young voters to turn up for the recent all-candidates meeting.
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- And so this year, I'm starting my own trend and pioneering a new movement. It's called 'bring grass back' and it entails a quick rake over the dirt and the tossing of a sack of grass seeds, all over what was my veggie garden.
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- It's not an easy choice, but your vote matters. Do your homework and make sure it accurately and honestly reflects who you are and what you believe in while at the same time acknowledging the need for building a community.
Thursday, May 31, 2018
OPINION --- So, the only thing we can predict is a Scott win. As to what colour our province will be when we wake up June 8 - blue, orange, red -,we'll have to wait and see. If it does go Tory blue, what role will our Haliburton royalty have in it?
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- Forget gun amnesties. The Outsider is considering a potluck dish amnesty to return all of those extra items in his kitchen.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- I fear that after June 7, the option of planning for a single tier municipal structure could be removed from local hands and imposed on the county by Queen's Park.
Thursday, May 24, 2018
OPINION --- If the feds and province want to broadcast news of grants, they need to do it in a timely manner before half the town already knows about it.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- Elephants can mourn, dogs can be genuinely pleased to see you and beavers, well they just plain old enjoy taking the mickey out of us rural folks.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- I have been trying to battle my nerves since I started playing in front of people and, spoiler alert, it's not working so far.
Thursday, May 17, 2018
OPINION --- It's been a long winter and we all need to remember why we come here every summer, or live here all year long. Welcome back cottagers and visitors and welcome back summer.
Friday, April 27, 2018
OPINION --- Like I said, I'm in my first season but I reckon I'm getting the hang of the pothole hunt and I'm enjoying it too.
Friday, April 27, 2018
OPINION --- Accelerato doesn't last forever. Eventually the music slows and we get onto a pace that we can savour. A steady rhythm where the beat feels a bit more manageable.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7