Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- Every day, more than 75 people make their way to the P & H Centre in Hanover to use the indoor walking track.
Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- Everything happens for a reason You know that ‘uh oh’ feeling, when you just gotta ‘go’, and I mean ‘GO’, a number two, if you get my drift.
Thursday, November 2, 2017
OPINION --- In recent months, both Algonquin Highlands and Minden Hills have changed the title of their head of council from reeve to mayor. I wholeheartedly agree with both the name change and the reasoning behind it.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- The cost of simply maintaining our roads and bridges is starting to cripple Minden Hills, Dysart, Algonquin Highlands and Highlands East.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- What do you reckon happens when two strangers, two hunters no less, meet in the woods? Both prowling through their territory.
Friday, October 27, 2017
OPINION --- As you look at this opinion piece; you are reading. You are looking at grammar, spelling, topic and sentence structure and hopefully you will enjoy reading this.
Thursday, October 19, 2017
OPINION --- The room was abuzz with the warmth and friendly chatter that comes with a family reunion.
Thursday, October 19, 2017
OPINION --- You know when you’ve done something that you’re not quite sure about, something that at the time you thought was a great idea but now, in hindsight you are not so proud of?
Thursday, October 19, 2017
OPINION --- We hope Minden Hills’ staff and council are serious when they say that an indoor swimming pool may one day be incorporated into the S.G. Nesbitt Memorial Arena and Community Centre.
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
OPINION -- So, did you have a good Thanksgiving? I hope so. My little family and I did, and we want to thank you.
Wednesday, October 18, 2017
OPINION -- It’s no secret, Haliburton County has a capacity problem when it comes to waste disposal.
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- “Build your business around passion because there is no sense running a business you don’t enjoy.”
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- One local business has indeed been baked and battered by the provincial and federal government’s nonsensical approach to reform.
Monday, October 9, 2017
OPINION --- An ode to the frost as it signals a summer now lost.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
OPINION --- So … it’s a little over two weeks until Hometown Hockey comes to Haliburton County. A committee of locals has formed and they’ve admitted that they’re a little worried that people don’t realize how big of a deal this is.
Saturday, September 30, 2017
OPINION --- When I think back, I could have been starring in some horrific, 1980s made for television, vampire movie, such was the pitiful scene and my terrible attempts to act nonchalant in the face of such overwhelming odds.
Thursday, September 21, 2017
OPINION --- How do you feel about squirrels? Red squirrels? And their extermination with extreme prejudice?
Thursday, September 21, 2017
OPINION --- While the cost of policing continues to soar across Haliburton County, the service – at least from a senior management perspective at our local OPP detachment – has remained as detached as ever.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- That's right folks. I, Anabelle Craig, the homeschooled kid from Tory Hill, has started high school.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- A couple of stories that crossed our path this week have us questioning the value of consultants.
Friday, September 15, 2017
OPINION --- Now, you’ll have to work with me on this one as I try to describe the contraption that I found myself lying in, in a field, at five o’clock in the morning the other day. Sounds ridiculous already, right?
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- The nervousness I felt upon entering my first year of post-secondary school in Toronto several years ago was quickly washed away thanks to a vibrant student residence on campus.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- As the Minden Terry Fox run organizers gear up for the 24th annual event Sept. 17, there are a lot of runners, walkers and cyclists also getting themselves ready. Many people make the Minden run an annual event.
Thursday, September 7, 2017
OPINION --- And there it was in an instant, a family divided. Mom and dad split, one sweet little daughter resolute and carrying on, the other looking apprehensive, knowing that she would have to make the important choice - do I go with mommy or daddy?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7