Friday, July 14, 2017
OPINION --- A municipality receiving a Provincial Officer’s Order is not a common event. But that’s exactly what Minden Hills has for the Scotch Line landfill.
Thursday, July 13, 2017
OPINION -- What’s the weather like while you’re reading this article? Raining, is it? Again! Just where is that long hot spell that we all expect in summer?
Thursday, July 6, 2017
OPINION --- The potato shot high into the sky, rocketing out of sight and for a moment we all stood motionless, grinning, eyes darting from one to another. And then, the whistling sound as our vegetable projectile came hurtling back to earth.
Friday, June 30, 2017
OPINION -- Now, Mrs. Mc’D and I are of a similar age, that being, how shall I put it, we are somewhere in the middle of our lives ...
Friday, June 23, 2017
OPINION -- I guess I should mention that the skies were already darkening as we pulled away from the boat launch.
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Today's front page story - on the challenges preventing young people from staying in the county - is hardly new.
Thursday, June 15, 2017
OPINION -- Minden Hills Reeve Brent Devolin says a public meeting will be held in the aftermath of the recent flooding.
Thursday, June 15, 2017
OPINION -- As I get older, I’m taken, from time to time, to reminiscing about times gone by.
Friday, June 9, 2017
OPINION --- It’s called the Algonquin Land Claim. It was a fairly big national story back in October, when the Algonquins of Ontario, the province and feds signed an agreement in principle.
Thursday, June 1, 2017
OPINION --- But then there’s the theory of human intervention; human introduction, even.
Thursday, June 1, 2017
OPINION --- As expected, the news that Ontario was raising its minimum wage was greeted with decidedly mixed reactions, most of them as predictable as you would think.
Thursday, June 1, 2017
OPINION --- The Haliburton Highlands Health Services (HHHS) has had a few challenging years but appears to be getting back on track.
Monday, May 29, 2017
OPINION --- Holy moly, May 24 comes around and all of a sudden we’re inundated by them!
Thursday, May 25, 2017
OPINION --- We’re going to be hearing a lot more about the province’s Changing Workplaces Review in coming weeks.
Friday, May 19, 2017
OPINION --- Ah, the foolish fun of a younger life.
Friday, May 19, 2017
OPINION --- We’re relieved to see warmer temperatures arrive and flood waters begin to recede across Haliburton County. Meanwhile, in Minden, life goes on.
Monday, May 15, 2017
OPINION --- One could feel the love and concern in the air as volunteers descended on Minden and spent the weekend moving sand around.
Friday, May 12, 2017
OPINION --- When disasters strike, people need critical and accurate information quickly.
Sunday, May 7, 2017
OPINION --- Have you ever thought of what Haliburton County’s economy will look like in the next couple of decades? I’m not talking about the normal tides and the ups and downs of commerce.
Thursday, May 4, 2017
OPINION --- Businesses in the Highlands have a way of handling the ebbs and flows that come with being in a rural, seasonal community rather well.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- Damn it! I knew there were a couple of things that I hated about the end of winter and this weekend has seen both of them materialize.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- People have expressed concern that I am cultivating an unhealthy relationship with the dump.
Thursday, April 27, 2017
OPINION --- Summer is drawing closer, and townships across the county are working hard to make sure they achieve that summer glow our seasonal (and permanent) residents expect. But before we flip that switch ...
Friday, April 21, 2017
OPINION -- It was as if I’d been scuba diving and there was a malfunction with my breathing apparatus. My chest was tight and panic had begun to set in.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7