Friday, March 24, 2017
OPINION --- There is often an odd relationship between a publisher and a managing editor. While they both work for the same company and presumably share the values that will see the newspaper succeed ...
Thursday, March 23, 2017
OPINION --- On one day a month, for as long as we can remember, there’s been a Minden court.
Thursday, March 23, 2017
OPINION -- Back in Blighty, there used to be this TV program where three middle-aged men grouched about everything, from sports results to the state of British politics, from the cost of a plane ticket to the price of a can of beans, oh how they moaned.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- The tooth fairy has been rather busy at our house, recently.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- For me, this is the time of year for reflection; to both look back at the year just past, and ahead to what the next few months might reveal.
Sunday, March 19, 2017
OPINION -- I’ve covered chamber of commerce awards in places such as Dauphin and Brandon, Manitoba, Sudbury, Bathurst and Mudgee in Australia and recently, Lindsay. But Saturday night was my first experience with the chamber of commerce business awards ..
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- Last week, we installed a very fancy, new digital sound system in a clients’ home. But, and here’s the ironic thing, we had to hook it up to the record player.
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- I think I am like most Canadians … while I find paying taxes irksome, I also realize taxes grease the wheels of a civil society.
Thursday, March 9, 2017
OPINION -- We ask readers to have a look at Jeannine Espie’s letter in today’s Highlander. Espie is an Eagle Lake-area homeowner who works for Vasey Insurance Brokers Ltd.
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
OPINION -- So, if we learned anything from the recent rejection of a proposal by developers to put a gas station beside the Tim Hortons in Haliburton it’s this: we’re running out of room.
Thursday, March 2, 2017
OPINION -- There were 472 dental-related visits to the Haliburton Hospital in 2012. Those visits cost Ontario’s health care system $513 per visit. That is $242,136. Yes, almost a quarter-of-a-million dollars.
Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- I know it’s spring because of the drip drip drip and the army of big fat hairy flies that have emerged from who knows where to live in my office. The darn things are visibly happy about the warming of the weather.
Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- Talk around the restaurant table last week quickly turned from the topic of the American President to the passing of Canadian broadcaster Stuart McLean. It wasn’t that Trump couldn’t have filled the lunch hour gabfest ...
Thursday, February 23, 2017
OPINION -- On Friday, I went to ServiceOntario in Minden.
Sunday, February 19, 2017
OPINION: StatsCan released its first set of numbers from the 2016 census last week. We are growing quicker than the provincial and national averages.
Thursday, February 16, 2017
OPINION -- Ladies of the night are much easier to spot than iguanas. And by ladies of the night I don’t mean some species of pretty butterfly.
Friday, February 10, 2017
There has been a lot of talk about the role of the upper-tier of municipal government and its leader, the warden.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
OPINION -- Last week, I thought my lovely wife might be going out of her mind. And, it had nothing to do with me. Honest.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
OPINION -- It all started back on Dec. 8, 2016, when a Ms. Jennifer Cureton, director of philanthropy and communications for the YWCA – Peterborough/Haliburton, appeared on a Minden Hills council agenda with a request for financial assistance ...
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- I spent last weekend split between two first-class events that were being hosted in Haliburton County.
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- Our front and page three stories in today’s Highlander show how local councils can expose themselves to complaints of favouritsm.
Thursday, February 2, 2017
OPINION -- A memorable day to forget Have you ever had ‘one of those days’? No, really, one of those days. The kind of day that delivers up so many obstacles and surprises that eventually you are at a loss as to what to expect next.
Saturday, January 21, 2017
OPINION -- Our coverage on short-term rentals in last week’s edition has certainly touched a nerve across the county.
Thursday, January 19, 2017
OPINION -- “If it’s one, two, then through, you’re good to go,” explains a friend of mine but I’m not so sure I’m going to take his advice.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7