Thursday, August 11, 2016
LIFE: Getting to see the Pope in Krakow, Poland, is one of the experiences Joanie Tyler can boast about for her summer of 2016.
Friday, August 26, 2016
HEALTH -- An unimpressive break room in the depths of the Haliburton Hospital is where Haliburton resident Diane Smith goes to talk about the cancer that threatened her life for several years.
Thursday, September 15, 2016
LIFE -- Being single and pregnant was not something Candice Grimes was prepared for at the age of 23 after having just moved back from the city.
Thursday, November 17, 2016
NEWS -- There are moments in Larry Blanchard’s career he will never forget.
Saturday, August 6, 2016
LIFE -- There is no one on Earth who can keep Horseshoe Lake resident Mabel Brannigan still.
Thursday, July 28, 2016
LIFE -- After spending 10 days in Japan for a Lions Club conference, Betty and David Mills have returned to the county.
Thursday, January 14, 2016
NEWS -- Three-year-old Jacob Bateman has a new kidney and is ready to start living his life outside of a hospital. Dates and periods of time spent at the hospital have been a big part of the West Guilford boy’s short but busy life.
Saturday, January 16, 2016
LIFE -- During lessons, students of all ages at Archie Stouffer Elementary School (ASES) take movement breaks, engage in brain puzzles and develop compassion for others.
Friday, May 6, 2016
LIFE -- A medical mission to Haiti isn’t just a bucket list item for Jennifer Button, it's a cause close to her heart.
Friday, May 20, 2016
NEWS -- When Malcolm MacLean saw a need he was the first in line to help.
Friday, November 25, 2016
NEWS -- Future Ontario Early Years Centre (OEYC) client, Nolan Gallagher lays in his mother’s arms as the ribbon is cut to officially open the relocated centre at Archie Stouffer Elementary School (ASES) in Minden.
Friday, March 24, 2017
PEOPLE --- Those who knew Stephen Patrick, remember a highly intelligent man with many interests.
Friday, June 23, 2017
NEWS -- When it comes to the plight of Canada’s First Nations people, high school teacher Cynthia McAlister believes it’s time to take action instead of just talking.
Monday, June 26, 2017
NEWS --- Sharon Lawrence and Barbara Gregory have forged a friendship through reminiscing about family activities and food traditions. There were the holidays but also the fall harvest, with its pickling and preserving of fruits and vegetables.
Thursday, July 20, 2017
LIFE --- Kathy Yandt dropped off the teenager she is fostering at camp recently. The two had issues before the girl left and didn’t part on the best of terms. But when she returned and walked into Yandt’s home she asked, “Can I have a hug?”
Friday, August 4, 2017
HEALTH --- When Sebastian Havill was still in his mother’s womb - about to undergo life-saving heart surgery in Toronto – he had Haliburton County family and friends backing his pre-birth surgery.
Friday, May 19, 2017
HEALTH --- A new report from Statistics Canada says the Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit has one of the highest cancer incidence and mortality rates in the country.
Monday, May 8, 2017
NEWS --- Much like an ignored physical injury, mental scars can grow, and over time, result in serious mental health issues that are difficult to recover from.
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
NEWS --- If all goes according to plan, next year’s Canada Day celebrations in Haliburton County might include a special twist; legal marijuana.
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
HEALTH --- Public input is needed to help develop a drug strategy to tackle substance abuse in Haliburton County and beyond.
Friday, September 22, 2017
NEWS --- With the danger and uncertainty behind them, the Wisos rebuild their lives in Haliburton.
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
HEALTH --- A newly-established non-profit organization in Haliburton County is lending support to people living with cancer and their primary support person.
Friday, March 24, 2017
LIFE --- Sometimes victims of domestic violence don’t leave their abuser because they are worried about their animals.
Friday, May 20, 2016
REVIEW -- A quick summary of stories you should keep an eye on this summer.
1 2 3 4 5